2003 Richardson Trophy
YRUGL Match Racing Championship

Lake Michigan wins the 2003 Richardson Trophy.

Perfect weather conditions prevailed for the 64th running of the Yacht Racing Union of the Great Lakes’ Richardson Trophy Regatta, cohosted by Port Huron Yacht Club and Sarnia Yacht Club.   Six teams, representing Lake Ontario (LYRA), Lake Erie (I-LYA), Detroit Regional Yachting Association (DRYA), Lake Huron (LHYA), Lake Michigan (LMSRF), and Lake Superior (LSYA) competed in a double round robin series sailed in S2 7.9’s on Lake Huron off Sarnia, Ontario.

Saturday’s round robin, sailed in shifty 8-14 knot offshore breezes, left Chris Van Tol (Lake Erie) and Hank Stuart (Lake Ontario) tied in first place, with Sarah Buckley (Lake Michigan) third.   Sunday in building 10-20 knot winds the LMSRF team had an outstanding day with 5 wins, for an overall series win in a tie breaker with Lake Erie.   Sarah Buckley, Derrick Reig, Justin Hood, Tom Kent, and Brian Smith bring the Richardson Cup back to Lake Michigan for the first time since 1967.

--Scott Spaeth, President, YRUGL

Copyright © 2010  YRUGL  All Rights Reserved.