2002 Richardson Trophy

Lake Superior wins the 2002 Richardson Trophy.

The winds of November blew early in September for the 2002 North Sails sponsored match racing championship of the Great Lakes on Saturday the 21st.   Teams from Rochester, NY, Detroit, MI, Holland, MI, and Duluth, MN sailed well matched J24s' with new North Sails.   Westerly winds ripped across Duluth's harbor at 18 plus knots.   But even with frequent gusts up to 30 knots, Lake Superior stayed smooth for the double round robin series.   Racing was tight.   With Lake Superior team from Duluth Yacht Club tying Rochester in the last race for the win.

1)   Rod Syck   (Lake Superior) -- 4 wins
2)   Hank Stuart   (Lake Ontario) -- 4 wins
3)   Bob Hughes   (Lake Michigan) -- 2 wins
4)   Chris VanTol   (Detroit Region) -- 2 wins

--Scott Jay Spaeth, President, Yacht Racing Union Great Lakes

Copyright © 2010  YRUGL  All Rights Reserved.