1999 Richardson Trophy

Detroit, MI, 5 September 1999.

The Union formed of the 5 Great Lakes plus Lake St. Clair, brings together one team each in the 60th running of the match racing competition held this past weekend, September 4&5, 1999 at the venerable Bayview Yacht Club.   Bayview Yacht Club provided their new Ultimate 20’s for the six lakes to use with each team providing a crew of four.   In the double round robin event with a total of 30 races sailed, Bill Abbott, Canadian Olympic Soling champion from Lake Huron, won with 9 wins and 1 loss.   Bayview's own Chris Van Tol was second with 8 wins and 2 losses.   Third was Heidi Backus Riddle from Lake Erie with 6 wins and 4 losses.   Jay Tovey from Rochester Yacht Club in Lake Ontario was 4th with 6 wins.   A disappointed Kent Heitzinger, from Lake Michigan finished 5th with 4 wins and Rick Corness from Thunder Bay on Lake Superior finished 6th.   The race committee work was outstanding.   The editor saw how they worked hard at getting the job done and getting the crews on the road at the earliest time possible.   That was refreshing.

YRUGL President Rolf Krotseng, while keeping with tradition, filled the Tiffany made, canoe shaped, Richardson Trophy with Stingers and consumed by the winners who shared the liquid refreshment with the other crews.

thor pair.jpghung up.jpg
Copyright © 2010  YRUGL  All Rights Reserved.