Match Racing is a form of sail boat racing where two competing teams race one on one against each other.  It has its own set of rules (Appendix C) in addition to the regular Racing Rules of Sailing.  Some feel that it is the ultimate test of a sail boat racer’s abilities and skills.  That is why it is the format chosen to decide the winner of the most prestigious trophies in sailing: The America's Cup, is deemed the oldest continuously raced match regatta in the world. The Richardson Trophy with its long history ranks second in this category.

The Richardson Trophy was established in 1912.  "Commodore S. O. Richardson, Jr., of the Toledo Yacht Club, Toledo, Ohio, donated a silver trophy to encourage match sail yacht racing between substantial yachts representing various of the Great Lakes"


Each year the Richardson Trophy is competed for by teams of sailors representing member clubs of The Yacht Racing Union of the Great Lakes  (YRUGL).  Any yacht club and its representative member, is eligable to send a team if the yacht club is a member in good standing with any one of the six Associations that make up The Yacht  Racing Union of the Great Lakes.  Specifically the Lake Associations are: Lake Superior Yachting Association, Lake Huron Yachting Association, Lake Michigan Sailing Federation, Detroit Regional Yacht-racing Association, Inter-Lake Yachting Association and Lake Yacht Racing Association.

Each Association chooses a team or teams (depending on that years regatta format) of Sailors to represent them in the competition for the Richardson Trophy. Currently this event is called The Richardson Trophy Match Racing Championship.  Each of the six Associations, historically, has taken turns hosting the regatta on a rotational basis. This rotation runs geographically west to east.  Each venue of the Richardson Trophy Championship is coordinated at the discretion of the Organizing Authority of The Yacht Racing Union of the Great Lakes.

The 2012 Richardson Trophy Regatta will be held in Chicago at the Chicago Match Race Center (CMRC) on the dates of October 12 – October 14, 2012 NOR Richardson2012NoR.pdf. For the most curent info Check the Forum by clicking this link.
More about match racing, events and clubs with active match racing programs in The Yacht Racing Union of the Great Lakes (YRUGL).
Congratulations Don Wilson and team, Winners of the 2011 Richardson Trophy

October 9, 2011

Light air plagued the race course for the final day of racing at the Richardson Trophy, the last Great Lakes match race event of the season. The past 2 days had beautiful winds and weather for full days of racing, but the breeze did not carry over to Day 3, which only allowed for a mere two flights. The concluding flight of semi-finals was the first flight of the day, and after that only one petit-final match was sailed. After lengthy postponements, the Race Committee decided that the wind was not filling in enough to continue racing. Don Wilson was crowned the 2011 Richardson Trophy Champion.

Don Wilson and 2008 Richardson Champion Steve Lowery safely secured finals spots by defeating their Semi-Final opponents in two 3-0 sweeps. The last Semi-Final flight was the only one fired off before an extended postponement left racers tied up alongside the houseboat. Racers enjoyed some nice rest and relaxation time on what was probably the last warm day of the season.

Racing picked up again for one match in the Petit Finals. Third and fourth places were ultimately decided by a single Petit Final match that dragged on for 20 minutes and resulted with Peter Wickwire in third overall. The first race attempt saw Wickwire up against Josh Kerst. Wickwire earned a penalty for a windward/leeward situation at the start that would have given Kerst a point had the race not been abandoned due to failing winds. The exact opposite circumstances appeared in the second attempt of the match when Kerst carried a penalty and couldn't catch up to Wickwire.

Another postponement was held until Race Committee determined that the current conditions were insufficient for racing. With no final series completed, the umpires reverted to ISAF rules to determine the final standings. Amongst a challenging fleet including previous Richardson champions Lowery and Chris VanTol, Don Wilson was deemed the event winner. The Richardson wraps up a highly successful season for Wilson at the Chicago Match Race Center.



2011 Final Standings

1) Don Wilson

2) Steve Lowery

3) Peter Wickwire

4) Josh Kerst

5) Chris VanTol

6) Ben Marden

7) Magnus Sandberg

8) Mark Johnson

9) Spencer Colpaert

10) Dan McNamara

11) Eric Christman


See more Comments and Feedback on the 2011 event and add your own!
Add your own pictures to the Gallery (Click Register on the uper right corener)


Stinger Recipes

Copyright © 2010  YRUGL  All Rights Reserved.